William F. Craig
Chief of Police

1033 Weldon Rd
Lake Hopatcong, NJ 07849

973 697 1300 Police HQ
973 697 7230 Main Fax

Patrol Division  
Page Navigation

The Patrol Division is the backbone of the department and is responsible for routine patrol coverage, all calls for service, and initial emergency response within the 44 square miles of Jefferson Township that extends from the tip of Route 80 out to Route 23, covering approximately 200 miles of roads within its borders.

The Patrol Division is the largest and most visible part of the department and is primarily responsible for initial investigations, routine motor vehicle accident investigations, traffic enforcement and all emergency calls.  Patrol Officers are responsible for warrant service and assist the Detective Bureau on search warrant executions.

As first responders to all emergency calls, the Patrol Officers also assist the Milton First Aid Squad and Jefferson Fire Company #1 (Oak Ridge side of town) and Jefferson Township Rescue Squad and Jefferson Fire Company #2 (Lake Hopatcong side of town).

During the Spring and Summer months, the Patrol Division's motor patrol is supplemented with our Community Services' bicycle patrol unit comprised of all of our Community Services officers as well as
specially trained officers from each squad in the Patrol Division.

The Patrol Division averages 1,000 calls for service and issues approximately 400 summonses each month.

At the present time, because of multiple, recent retirements, in addition to several promotions, the Patrol Division consists of two platoon Lieutenants, two squad Sergeants, four Corporals and 22 Police Officers.  Ideally, each squad should consist of 6 officers (a sergeant, a corporal, and four police officers).  At any given time, one squad is always working.  Over the past 7 months, we have added four new police officers to the department, have one officer in the police academy, and will be promoting three officers to the rank of sergeant over the next couple of months, which will bring our force back up to its normal operating level.  Click here to see our Department Organizational Chart.

Platoon 1 Commander is Lieutenant James Caruso.  He can be reached by calling (973) 208-6154 or you may email him by clicking on his email link on our Contact Information page.

Platoon 2 Commander is Lieutenant Timothy McBride.  He can be reached by calling (973) 208-3209 or you may email him by clicking on his email link on our Contact Information page.


Hopatcong Borough Police Department (Sussex County)Mount Arlington Borough Police Department (Morris County)Rockaway Township Police Department (Morris County)Roxbury Township Police Department (Morris County)West Milford Township Police Department (Passaic County)Wharton Borough Police Department (Morris County)

Print this page Print this page Print this page Email this page Email this page

Powered by Cit-e-Net

9843984398439843 visitors since April 26, 2012